Driving Innovation through Scientific Expertise

The Nature's Bounty Co.’s Scientific Advisory Council is made up of prominent scientists and researchers external to The Nature's Bounty Co., who play a key role in the Company’s product innovation and scientific advancement. It is comprised of some of the most respected medical and nutrition experts in the field, who have been carefully evaluated and selected based on their knowledge and how it could be leveraged by or applied to our business. These individuals represent expertise in a variety of disciplines, including Nutrition Epidemiology, Alternative Medicine and Herbs, Food Science, Sports Nutrition, Probiotics and Prebiotics, Vitamins and Minerals and Fatty Acids.

Chaired by Dr. David L. Katz, founding director of Yale University’s Prevention Research Center, the group provides tactical insight into nutrition and health trends, assists The Nature's Bounty Co. in advancing its global scientific efforts, and provides guidance and feedback on new product development and innovation, among other things.

Members of The Nature's Bounty Co. Scientific Advisory Council are:

David L. Katz, MD, MPH, FACPM, FACP

is the Chair of the Nature’s Bounty Co. Scientific Advisory Council.  He is founding director of Yale University’s Prevention Research Center, President of the American College of Lifestyle Medicine, Editor in Chief of the Journal Childhood Obesity.  Chief Science Officer for NuVal LLC and director of the Integrative Medicine Center at Griffin Hospital.  A two-time diplomate of the American Board of Internal Medicine and a Board Certified Specialist in Preventive Medicine/Public Health, he is recognized globally for expertise in nutrition, weight management, and the prevention of chronic disease.

Tom (J. Thomas) Brenna, PhD

is a professor of Human Nutrition, Chemistry, Chemical Biology and of Food Science and Technology at Cornell University, Ithaca, New York.  He is also an Adjunct Professor in the Department of Public Health Sciences at the University of Rochester (NY) School of Medicine and Dentistry.  His area of expertise is in fatty acids and development of general dietary guidelines.

Diane L. McKay, PhD, FACN

is a Director of the Graduate Certificate Program and an Assistant Professor in the Friedman School of Nutrition Science and Policy, and a Scientist in the Antioxidants Research Laboratory at the Jean Mayer USDA Human Nutrition Research Center on Aging (HNRCA) at Tufts University in Boston, MA.  She investigates the role of nutrients and phytochemicals in human health and is often quoted in the popular media, including National Public Radio, US News and World Report, Good Housekeeping, CNN.com and other outlets.

David Nieman, DrPH

is a Professor in the College of Health Sciences at Appalachian State University and the Director of the Human Performance Lab at the North Carolina Research Campus (NCRC) in Kannapolis, NC.  Dr. Nieman is a pioneer in the research area of exercise immunology.

Aviva Romm, MD

is a Board Certified Family Physician, midwife, herbalist, and the creator of Herbal Medicine for Women, a distance-learning course with over 900 students around the world.  An internationally respected authority on botanical and functional medicine for women and children, with 30 years of clinical experience, she is the author of 7 books on natural medicine, including Botanical Medicine for Women’s Health, winner of the American Botanical Council’s James Duke Award.
David McClements

David Julian McClements, PhD, FRSC, FIFT

is a distinguished Professor at the Department of Food Science at the University of Massachusetts.  He specializes in the development of food-based delivery systems for bioactive components, such as vitamins and nutraceuticals.  He is the author or editor of over 10 books, and has published over 800 papers in scientific journals (H-index 87).  He is currently the most highly cited author in the Agricultural Sciences.
Joseph Petrosino

Joseph F. Petrosino, PhD

is a Professor and interim-chairman of the department of Molecular Virology and Microbiology at Baylor College of Medicine where he is also the director of the Alkek Center for Metagenomics and Microbiome Research.  He also holds joint appointments in the Baylor College of Medicine Human Genome Sequencing Center, and Department of Ophthalmology.  Dr. Petrosino is also the Founder and Chief Scientific Officer of Diversigen, Inc. He is recognized internationally as an expert on the human microbiome and its role in health and disease.
Fred Turek

Fred W. Turek, Ph.D.

is a professor for the Department of Neurobiology, Neurology and Psychiatry as well as the founding Director of the Center for Sleep and Circadian Biology at Northwestern University in Evanston/Chicago, IL. He is internationally recognized for his studies on the effect of disrupted sleep and circadian rhythm on health and disease.